Go Back   Web User Forums > Software > Web Browser Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14-06-13, 20:38
basicchipmunk basicchipmunk is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Smile British Gas - Top Up Page - NOT WORKING IE 10 - Working FIX Here

hi I have found a fix for the British Gas self top up page (https://britishgastopup.paypoint.com/BrowserError.aspx)
this is where you can top up your pay as you go electric and gas at home, I emailed them explaining that there site is not working with IE 10 but they just said its not supported end of.. after spending hours online I found no joy but came across a fix by mistake if you hit F12 when you open the site it will open a menu at the bottom of the page where you can select browser mode and change it to IE9 the site then loads and tops up fine.
I have posted some screen shoots aswell
http://i1265.photobucket.com/albums/...ps36cb7c24.jpg
http://i1265.photobucket.com/albums/...psac284079.jpg
http://i1265.photobucket.com/albums/...psd6a01231.jpg
hope this helps people any questions or comments post back and ill do my best to help
Thanks
Shane
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-08-13, 17:18
sonia sonia is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Re: British Gas - Top Up Page - NOT WORKING IE 10 - Working FIX Here

hi Shane

I have tried your mistake of hitting f12, then select ie9. how my word it worked.
thank you.
In the past I have tried various forum no help,.
t/you again.
chums
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-08-13, 17:43
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Highly valued member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,468
Default Re: British Gas - Top Up Page - NOT WORKING IE 10 - Working FIX Here

Another method would be to use an alternate browser such as Firefox.

For a few months after the IE9 release version came out, my bank didn't support it and I had to log in with FF.

It's best if you have an alternate browser to IE installed and then if you have problems with IE, you can use that to eliminate if it's that or the site.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-13, 21:52
basicchipmunk basicchipmunk is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Default Re: British Gas - Top Up Page - NOT WORKING IE 10 - Working FIX Here

Hi I did try in Google Chrome but British gas at the time was IE only, but oh well it least there was a work around despite their team of super technicians telling me tuff luck nothing they can do.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-13, 08:19
greysts's Avatar
greysts greysts is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Colchester
Posts: 22,502
Default Re: British Gas - Top Up Page - NOT WORKING IE 10 - Working FIX Here

I'm having problems with this useless piece of British Gas junk as well. I've just had to re-build a PC after it fell foul of the SOCA virus so I thought I might as well update everything. Apparently their hardware won't work with anything except 32bit IE9 with ActiveX. British Gas engineers apparently find life too difficult when it comes to 64 bit, Chrome, Waterfox or even 32 bit Firefox despite the advert that says they can do everything including unblocking your kitchen sink!
__________________
http://www.rivergippingtrust.org.uk/
Preserving the historic heritage of the Stowmarket Navigation
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
british electric, british gas, ie10, top up fix

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 11:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved