Go Back   Web User Forums > Internet Access > Networking and Wi-Fi

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 21-04-18, 14:28
Andrewps72 Andrewps72 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantrel View Post
Window uninstaller tends to leave residue so it's best to use the program's uninstaller.

Does Event Viewer have anything recorded for that Ethernet error you got in Safe Mode with Networking ?
Not entirely sure what I am looking for, but I did find this:

The IP address lease 192.168.1.18 for the Network Card with network address 0xE894F64EB196 has been denied by the DHCP server 192.168.1.1 (The DHCP Server sent a DHCPNACK message).

Your computer was not able to renew its address from the network (from the DHCP Server) for the Network Card with network address 0xE894F64EB196. The following error occurred: 0x79. Your computer will continue to try and obtain an address on its own from the network address (DHCP) server.

Does this help at all?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 21-04-18, 14:42
Andrewps72 Andrewps72 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonshine View Post
"I get the message saying that Ethernet doesnt have a valid configuration."

I have had that 'error' when there is an issue with a powerline adapter (Home Plug).

Take the Home Plugs out of the equation and connect direct to the router with a suitable Ethernet cable for a comparison.
It would have to be a very long Ethernet cable!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 21-04-18, 15:02
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,722
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Can you open a command prompt and enter ipconfig /all to see if it reports DHCP as Enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 21-04-18, 15:04
Moonshine Moonshine is offline
Passionate member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,002
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Long Ethernet cables are reasonably cheap, far cheaper than the price of new Plugs .

Example: 50m White Network Cable - High Quality / CAT5e (enhanced) / RJ45 / Ethernet - 9.95

You need to take the Plugs out of the equation for a realistic comparison.
You could of course go out and buy new Plugs and find you have the exact same issue. There is no sense in that.
It's up to you, but I'm sure if you phoned up your ISP for advice, or any other professional help, they would ask you to take out the Plugs if they knew about them.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 21-04-18, 15:20
Andrewps72 Andrewps72 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantrel View Post
Can you open a command prompt and enter ipconfig /all to see if it reports DHCP as Enabled.
In safe mode?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 21-04-18, 15:31
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,722
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Normal mode will do.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 21-04-18, 15:34
Andrewps72 Andrewps72 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Checked. Both Ethernet and wireless both say dhcp enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 21-04-18, 15:47
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,722
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

You can sometimes get that error if it already has an IP address assigned to it as in a static IP address, but occasionally I've had that error in my Event Viewer when boot up has taken a bit longer than normal.

I think it's probably best to go with Moonshine's suggestion of getting an Ethernet cable.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 21-04-18, 18:30
Andrewps72 Andrewps72 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Do you think it's worth doing a factory reset of Windows to see if that helps?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 21-04-18, 21:19
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,722
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

You could try a repair which isn't as drastic, but if the problem is the Home Plugs then it will not have any effect.

A repair install doesn't affect personal stuff or installed programs, but you have run the netcfg -d cmd which resets all network adapters and it made no difference.

I bought a 10m Ethernat cable just to update the firmware on a Samsung SMART HD TV and for the most part, it just sits there unused.

You may view buying a much longer one as a waste of money as it could mean having to spend more should it prove to be the Home Plugs.

As for me and to my knowledge, you have exhausted everything thing you can do on the computer and it's down to either an Ethernet cable and/or new Home Plugs.

At least with an Ethernet cable, you'll have a fall back should the Home Plugs go down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 01:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved