Go Back   Web User Forums > Internet Access > Networking and Wi-Fi

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 19-04-18, 20:48
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,722
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Which antivirus program are you using and have you tried clearing the temp Internet cache ?

The free version of CCleaner is good for this.

To determine if it's your AV program slowing things down then boot into Safe Mode with Networking to see how it performs then.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20-04-18, 05:33
Andrewps72 Andrewps72 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Would new home plugs help?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20-04-18, 05:35
Andrewps72 Andrewps72 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantrel View Post
Which antivirus program are you using and have you tried clearing the temp Internet cache ?

The free version of CCleaner is good for this.

To determine if it's your AV program slowing things down then boot into Safe Mode with Networking to see how it performs then.
I have been using avg. Is that ok?
I can try ccleaner.
Would new home plugs help?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20-04-18, 07:14
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,722
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

I've heard AVG can become bloated, but if it seems to be working for you then stay with it.

When you boot up into Safe Mode with Networking, this isolates all 3rd party programs including AV programs and is the safest way to still go online as a diagnostic to see if it could be your AV program.

I'd try and eliminate what's on the computer first before going to the expense of new hardware.

When using CCleaner, click on Options/Advanced and uncheck the box for Only delete files in Windows Temp folder older than 24hours.

This will clean out much more which can slow up a computer.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20-04-18, 16:17
Andrewps72 Andrewps72 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Hi
I downloaded avast anti virus and ccleaner.
I went into safe mode and ran both programs.

I wasn't able to use the internet in safe mode.
Ethernet said unidentified network. I was unable to diagnose in safe mode.

I restarted my pc and ran speed test. Ethernet I got 14.82 download and 1.77 upload. When I tried wireless I got 22.52 download and 16.79 upload.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 20-04-18, 22:45
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,722
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

You have to select Safe Mode with Networking.

Did you use AVG's uninstaller ?

https://www.avg.com/en-gb/utilities
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 21-04-18, 05:25
Andrewps72 Andrewps72 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

It was the safe mode with networking option I used.
I uninstalled avg through the uninstall option in the control panel
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 21-04-18, 09:36
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,722
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Window uninstaller tends to leave residue so it's best to use the program's uninstaller.

Does Event Viewer have anything recorded for that Ethernet error you got in Safe Mode with Networking ?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 21-04-18, 09:51
Moonshine Moonshine is offline
Passionate member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,002
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

"I get the message saying that Ethernet doesnt have a valid configuration."

I have had that 'error' when there is an issue with a powerline adapter (Home Plug).

Take the Home Plugs out of the equation and connect direct to the router with a suitable Ethernet cable for a comparison.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 21-04-18, 09:55
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,722
Default Re: Ethernet vs wifi

Thanks, Moonshine - perhaps it is time to get some new Home Plugs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 01:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved