Go Back   Web User Forums > Software > All Other Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25-10-17, 19:09
pcuser1 pcuser1 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 47
Question Duplicate screen on Windows XP?

Is it possible to duplicate screen on Windows XP (Home SP3) whereby TV (connected with VGA) will show the same image as laptop screen? Key F4 is labelled "LCD/CRT" and pressing FN+F4 will allow for switch between laptop screen only or TV only, but not both together. Windows+P doesn't do anything.

Desktop properties setting tab only shows one monitor and there is no "Extend desktop" or "Clone desktop" options as suggested in h/s. I have tried changing screen resolution and restarting but still not working.

I know there is obviously an easy way to do this as I've seen many laptops with XP connected to TVs/projectors with VGA. Anyone know what that easy way is? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-10-17, 20:32
Stewart40's Avatar
Stewart40 Stewart40 is offline
Top contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ayr, Scotland
Posts: 7,118
Default Re: Duplicate screen on Windows XP?

Not something I've had to deal with, but is it not set up through your graphics card control panel & so exactly how will depend on the card -
- multiple displays and all that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-10-17, 23:40
mikec1 mikec1 is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Fylde, Lancs
Posts: 904
Default Re: Duplicate screen on Windows XP?

See https://www.microsoft.com/resources/....mspx?mfr=true
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-10-17, 17:10
pcuser1 pcuser1 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 47
Default Re: Duplicate screen on Windows XP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikec1 View Post
Thanks but seen that. Laptop doesn't show two monitors or the checkbox to extend...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-10-17, 17:13
pcuser1 pcuser1 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 47
Default Re: Duplicate screen on Windows XP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stewart40 View Post
Not something I've had to deal with, but is it not set up through your graphics card control panel & so exactly how will depend on the card -
- multiple displays and all that.
Not sure what graphics card it has. Don't think it's anything "high performance" etc. Never actually seen anything for settings for graphics card. Only display properties in the control panel itself.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-10-17, 19:08
Stewart40's Avatar
Stewart40 Stewart40 is offline
Top contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ayr, Scotland
Posts: 7,118
Default Re: Duplicate screen on Windows XP?

Try in Display > Settings tab > Advanced button > if there is a tab for your Graphics
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-11-17, 20:19
pcuser1 pcuser1 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 47
Default Re: Duplicate screen on Windows XP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stewart40 View Post
Try in Display > Settings tab > Advanced button > if there is a tab for your Graphics
Thanks. But there is no tab for graphics in the advanced window.

I have managed to get it to duplicate screen on a Digihome branded TV, however the Toshiba TV that I intend to connect it to does not allow me to duplicate the screen. I have tried the Toshiba TV with several other laptops (a mixture of Windows 7, 10 and 98), and all will duplicate fine. What I have found shows that this XP laptop is capable of duplicating the screen, but for some reason isn't.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-11-17, 20:20
pcuser1 pcuser1 is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 47
Default Re: Duplicate screen on Windows XP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stewart40 View Post
Try in Display > Settings tab > Advanced button > if there is a tab for your Graphics
Thanks. But there is no tab for graphics in the advanced window.

I have managed to get it to duplicate screen on a Digihome branded TV, however the Toshiba TV that I intend to connect it to does not allow me to duplicate the screen. I have tried the Toshiba TV with several other laptops (a mixture of Windows 7, 10 and 98), and all will duplicate fine. What I have found shows that this XP laptop is capable of duplicating the screen, but for some reason dosen't.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 17:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved