Go Back   Web User Forums > Internet Access > Networking and Wi-Fi

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19-08-18, 15:26
grahammelon grahammelon is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Not sure
Posts: 940
Default INFL Routers.

Hello,
Wondering if someone can help.
I have INFL BB. There is a main router for the incoming cable, this feeds the second router.
The first main one only has one port configured. I would like to have them all working to add to the network. I could buy an ethernet switch but would rather not if possible.
I can get into second router config but not sure if or how to get into primary router to config that to open ports.
Any help much appreciated
__________________
Win 7 prem,Pale Moon, Avast AV Win FW, mbam,
and much2much time

I wish I had a mind to make up
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-08-18, 15:40
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11,041
Default Re: INFL Routers.

Disconnect the second router and connect the modem to the computer then open a command prompt and enter ipconfig /all to see if it gives you a Default Gateway which will be its log in address.

I'm not familiar with that type of modem/router but would have thought that plugging an Ethernet cable into each of the ports and connecting to a computer would auto configure.

Generally though, modems just have one Ethernet port.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-08-18, 15:51
Sneakybeaky's Avatar
Sneakybeaky Sneakybeaky is offline
Passionate member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gosport Hants
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: INFL Routers.

If the iNFL is set to modem mode then only one port ( the one bridging to the second router) will operate. A router/modem operating in both modem (bridge) mode and router mode at the same time is not usually possible. You certainly do not want two routers operating on the same network. An inexpensive switch on the second router is the best solution.
__________________
Contrariwise,continued Tweedledee, if it was so, it might be; and if it were so, it would be: but as it isn't, it ain't. That's logic.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-08-18, 15:54
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11,041
Default Re: INFL Routers.

It's a Spanish set up.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-08-18, 19:22
grahammelon grahammelon is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Not sure
Posts: 940
Default Re: INFL Routers.

Thanks for your prompt and as always great advice.
So, as you say, it's normal for the modem to have only one port, that answers my options.
I wanted to move router to a better spot but still be able to use wired wall socket. I would need to run two cables to the router. One from the modem to the WAN and one back from LAN on router to wall socket next to modem.
It's the shortest wiring option.....is it worth it though. The wi-fi isn't struggling badly.
I shall mull it over now I have good info from you.
Many thanks, always appreciated.
All the best
__________________
Win 7 prem,Pale Moon, Avast AV Win FW, mbam,
and much2much time

I wish I had a mind to make up
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 12:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved