Go Back   Web User Forums > Software > Web Browser Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-07-18, 13:02
Cantrel Cantrel is online now
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11,062
Default Re: New Firefox browser seems to be having problems

Press and hold SHIFT throughout a Restart - Troubleshoot - Advanced options - Startup Settings - Restart - press F5 for Safe Mode with Networking but Ethernet connect for Internet connectivity as Win 10 isolates wireless in that mode.

If it isn't practical for you to Ethernet connect, then while on the desktop, press CTRL+ALT+DEL - click on the wireless icon in the taskbar - click on your SSID - Connect - left click away to close that window then click on Cancel where you'll have a full wireless icon.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-07-18, 22:16
Madeline's Avatar
Madeline Madeline is offline
Top contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cymru
Posts: 51,501
Default Re: New Firefox browser seems to be having problems

You said in post #6 that you got the new download from Google. I don't know whether it would make any difference, but is there a reason why you didn't get it from Mozilla at their site below?

Mozilla Firefox Web Browser Download Firefox in your language Mozilla

I run an older version of Firefox ~ v56.0.2 ~ and I noticed that for some reason NoScript had blocked firefox.com although mozilla.org is allowed. When you got Kaspersky, did you make sure you'd got rid of your previous security program before installing it? Incidentally, I got the same as Tom when trying your link.
__________________
"I'm Irish. We think sideways." Spike Milligan. 1918 - 2002
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-07-18, 05:46
fossewayfella's Avatar
fossewayfella fossewayfella is offline
Highly valued member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,669
Default Re: New Firefox browser seems to be having problems

Thanks both of you.
I downloaded it again from Mozilla and it seems to have done the trick.
I usually do all downloads from the maker where possible but for some reason didn't.( To many beers, football and hot sun I think, great isn't it!) lol.

Thanks for the tip and idiot sheet Cantrel. Funny how you forget things. I knew it was a rigmarole with Win 10. Why do they make things more difficult. They could make a shortcut surely???

fosseway
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-07-18, 01:32
Madeline's Avatar
Madeline Madeline is offline
Top contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cymru
Posts: 51,501
Default Re: New Firefox browser seems to be having problems

I'm glad you've got it sorted fosseway. One thing it encouraged me to do was to install the latest version of Firefox, mainly to see if it would work OK and also to find out more about it. Anyway, I've now got 2 separate installations of Firefox, each with its own profile, which seem to work fine. The new version ~ 61.0.1 ~ installed without any problems arising thankfully!
__________________
"I'm Irish. We think sideways." Spike Milligan. 1918 - 2002
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 15:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved