Go Back   Web User Forums > Software > General PC-related

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 16-05-18, 09:14
Scooby Scooby is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 563
Default Re: Laptop problem.

Wow. I am never going to be out of your debt Cantrel. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 16-05-18, 09:34
Cantrel Cantrel is online now
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,456
Default Re: Laptop problem.

I've downloaded the XP Pro SP3 ISO from - https://softlay.net/operating-system...-download.html which took a little under 5mins on my 38Mbps Fibre connection.

I then ran a scan with the free version of MBAM which found nothing untoward and have successfully created the install disk using ImgBurn.

Give that a try and then boot up with it and follow the steps to perform the offboot sfc /scannow as I've already described - I would think the XP Install screen will still have the Repair your computer option.

EDIT - All my help is gratis - so no debt
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 16-05-18, 16:24
Scooby Scooby is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 563
Default Re: Laptop problem.

Thanks again Sir. I will get round to that as soon as I can.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 17-05-18, 16:34
Cantrel Cantrel is online now
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,456
Default Re: Laptop problem.

Not being familiar with the XP Recovery Environment I came across this article for how to perform a repair install.

https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-perf...nstall-2624915

There's also this article in how to install and use the Recovery Console which will allow you to do more when your machine won't boot.

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tut...overy-console/

It's quite possible that the steps I've described for performing an offboot sfc will not apply to XP.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 17-05-18, 19:06
Scooby Scooby is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 563
Default Re: Laptop problem.

That's handy. Thank you. I'll have a read.

EDIT. I just got lucky. My XP Pro Product key was on a label underneath the laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 17-05-18, 19:37
Cantrel Cantrel is online now
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,456
Default Re: Laptop problem.

That may not work like a retail key would as OEM branded machines have a generic key.

The article says that you shouldn't need the key for a repair install as you would do for a Win 7 repair install, but you can usually leave the prompt for a product key blank as you get about 3 days to activate it.

If it doesn't accept that key and you can proceed but are prompted later to activate it, go Start - type run and press enter then type Slui 3 and press enter where you will be prompted to enter the label key and that should return as activated.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 17-05-18, 21:25
Scooby Scooby is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 563
Default Re: Laptop problem.

Thank you yet again Cantrel.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 19-05-18, 05:32
Scooby Scooby is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 563
Default Re: Laptop problem.

I have now, through the efforts of Cantrel, acquired a bootable disk that will start my XP Pro. laptop. But before I go further I could do with what is hopefully a last piece of advice. I have attached a couple of screen shots and hopefully someone will be ale to advise.

After telling the laptop to boot from the CD I get the first screen below. The question is : Should I take Automated System Recovery option ? If I do nothing at that stage the laptop then spends about 4-5 minutes loading various files. See the 2nd screen shot and the next reply to this topic as examples.

Last edited by Scooby; 21-05-18 at 19:42.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 19-05-18, 05:38
Scooby Scooby is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 563
Default Re: Laptop problem.

........continuing on from the previous post, the first screen shot below is another example of the files that are loaded but the 2nd screen shot below is what I get after all the files have been loaded and I have to admit at this stage that I am lost.

Last edited by Scooby; 23-05-18 at 09:32.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 19-05-18, 08:20
Scooby Scooby is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 563
Default Re: Laptop problem.

It would appear that I am unable to edit my posts on here now and so could I ask that if I take the Automated System Recovery option as displayed in my post #28 will I lose all existing data ?

EDIT. Obviously the edit option only lasts for a certain time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 21:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved