Go Back   Web User Forums > Hardware > Tablets, smartphones and e-readers

Old 28-03-18, 08:10
Highly valued member

Default Can you ChromeCast from an ipad?

I have a disabled friend who uses Apple equipment.(phone and tablet). I am trying to set up on her fairly old, non /smart, Samsung, You Tube, etc, so it can be done from her wheel chair (she is unable to walk).Her current tv only has free view and I am trying to increase her entertainment programmes,etc, for as little as possible without her going the whole hog and buying a new set.

However I have no knowledge of ipads or apps for same, I wondered if a Chromecast can be used with an ipad or there might be some other app on ipad that could be used to obtain these extras for her.
Any advice please.

fosseway
Old 28-03-18, 08:26
Enthusiastic contributor

Default Re: Can you ChromeCast from an ipad?

As far as I am aware if you can install the Chrome Browser then you can "cast" to a television, for instance. I do have a Chromecast device and that's how it works on my computer. But my computer is not an Apple. Have to looked on the Apple store to see if there is an app for using the Chromecast device?
Old 31-03-18, 21:27
Highly valued member

If the TV is old it won't be able to receive a screen cast signal without a receiver. It must have an HDMI socket for the receiver. The most commonly known receiver is Chromecast. Although most Android TV sticks will receive a screen cast signal as standard. There is also Mirror Cast which is a screen cast copy (or perhaps more appropriate to say that Chrome Cast is a copy of Mirror Cast which I think was around first)