Go Back   Web User Forums > Multimedia > BBC iPlayer, Netflix, Amazon Prime, Kodi...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 21-01-18, 17:09
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,577
Default Re: Get_iPlayer ????? Does it work?

Fair enough
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22-01-18, 01:19
Madeline's Avatar
Madeline Madeline is offline
Top contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cymru
Posts: 49,986
Default Re: Get_iPlayer ????? Does it work?

You can get some guides and tutorials here:

Guides | get_iPlayer Forums Guides Help

I saw these too, but I don't know if they're relevant:

Keep downloaded BBC iPlayer TV shows Permanently.

How to-remove-drm-protection-from-bbc-i player-vide
__________________
"I'm Irish. We think sideways." Spike Milligan. 1918 - 2002
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26-01-18, 07:29
rufford155 rufford155 is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Lancashire & Madeira
Posts: 249
Default Re: Get_iPlayer ????? Does it work?

Alan - thanks for trying to help. I think the article you refer to is probably the one I was using anyway or something very similar.

Madeline - I had already seen the guide you linked to. A quick glance at it shows how convoluted the whole thing is.

I really don't have the time to struggle with it if it's not reasonably straightforward so I'm afraid I'm giving uo on it.

Thanks for your interest.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26-01-18, 10:30
alanrwood's Avatar
alanrwood alanrwood is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 834
Default Re: Get_iPlayer ????? Does it work?

As I remember it took me about 10 minutes to work it out. I thin k it was just one particular aspect that took some working out but can't remember the specifics and don't have it installed any more. I only installed it to download and keep a couple of operas broadcast last year.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27-01-18, 21:42
Madeline's Avatar
Madeline Madeline is offline
Top contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cymru
Posts: 49,986
Default Re: Get_iPlayer ????? Does it work?

Quote:
I really don't have the time to struggle with it if it's not reasonably straightforward so I'm afraid I'm giving uo on it.
I'm sorry to see this, but obviously it's up to you. I thought the guides seemed straightforward.

I remember there was an article in CA a few month's ago about various BBC Tools, but it wouldn't have mentioned Get_iPlayer since it's a 3rd party program.

For anyone who's interested, the following page tells you how to install Get_iPlayer:

windows get-iplayer/get_iplayer Wiki GitHub
__________________
"I'm Irish. We think sideways." Spike Milligan. 1918 - 2002
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-04-18, 14:42
nickjames nickjames is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 37
Default Re: Get_iPlayer ????? Does it work?

I am going to Turkey for few weeks. Thinking about how do I unblock BBC iPlayer UK there and if it's legality of using a VPN. I searched the same query on the internet and got few results like
https://www.purevpn.com/how-to-watch-bbc-iplayer
https://www.bestvpn.com/best-bbc-vpn/
https://www.usavpn.com/bbc-may-take-...aming-service/

Is it legal in turkey to use a VPN? Is there any law of legality?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-04-18, 17:20
rufford155 rufford155 is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Lancashire & Madeira
Posts: 249
Default Re: Get_iPlayer ????? Does it work?

Nick,

Surprised to get a post on here after so long !

Anyway, I go abroad a lot to our own house and must have tried about 20 VPN's without much luck.
The free ones are either very slow or have various restrictions.
You might do better with a paid subscription but I've never tried.
Beware though, I think the BBC might still detect you are using a VPN and lock you out anyway.
Many restricted sites can do this nowadays - Camelot for the Lottery is another one.

However I will be naughty and recommend to you the TVCatchup app if you have a tablet or smartphone.
This will give you live broadcasts (despite the name) of all UK channels.
Of course you will need a wi-fi connection.
And if you have a TV with HDMI input you can connect your device to it, if it has HDMI output, with the appropriate lead.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 11:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved