Go Back   Web User Forums > Software > Windows 7 help

Old 10-02-18, 10:48
Established member

Question Read Only files

Can anyone explain why a .doc file I have been using for many years suddenly changed to a "Read only" . It is an announcement for a regular lecture series where I have simply added date time and other details, ctrl/a ctrl/c then saved the file without the changes. The "Ctrl/c" file is inserted into an email.
Have I done something??
Ericg
Old 10-02-18, 11:07
Global Moderator

Default Re: Read Only files

I don't know why that has occurred but this article may help - https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...4196f64?auth=1

However, if your Docs folder has been changed to read only then you will need to take ownership of it, either by the steps in this article or by adding Take Ownership to the right click context menu.

https://www.sevenforums.com/general-...read-only.html

Scroll down to the bottom of this article to use the Take Ownership Menu Hacks - I have this on my laptops.

https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/wind...menu-in-vista/

You can also right click on your Doc's file and take ownership of it.
Old 10-02-18, 12:00
Highly valued member

Just a guess really but have you by any chance put the file in a new folder, even if not it still might be worth checking the folder properties as it may be the folder which the file is stored in that is causing the problem as if set to read only this will normally be passed on to the folder's contents.

Right click the folder it is contained in and select properties under the general tab: see if the read only box is checked, if so uncheck it > apply> OK.

If it is that you will probably need to repeat on the file itself which would now have been set to read only in line with the folder properties.
Old 10-02-18, 12:09
Highly valued member

Ooops! I see you've already mentioned what I've just rit Tom.