Go Back   Web User Forums > Software > Email and Messaging

Old 09-02-18, 19:41
Enthusiastic contributor

Question How to use BCC?

I've been using computers for a long time, but I'm still a beginner in many respects. As just one example among many, I don't remember ever using BCC in e-mails.

I'm planning to use BCC to send the same message to a number of similar organisations, but do I need to put something in the "To" field, or can I leave it blank and only use BCC?
Old 09-02-18, 21:16
Enthusiastic contributor

Default Re: How to use BCC?

Put your own email address in the To box and you will get a blind copy yourself as will all the others.

If you leave it blank, it won't go anywhere!
Old 09-02-18, 21:37
Enthusiastic contributor

Sorry - you'll get a full copy yourself, of course. The others get blind copies.

You can also add yourself into the BCC list and you will get a blind copy as well as the full copy, so you will know what everyone you sent it to saw, as well as having a record of everyone you sent it to.

You can check it works just by sending a BCC email To yourself and BCC'ing just yourself.
Old 10-02-18, 09:33
Enthusiastic contributor

Thanks mikec1. Such a simple thing, just that I've never had a reason to do it before. It wouldn't really matter if they all knew who else I'd sent it to, but I prefer BCC to CC for something like this.
Old 10-02-18, 10:36
Enthusiastic contributor

In e-mail terminology, Cc stands for "carbon copy" and Bcc stands for "Blind carbon copy". The difference between Cc and Bcc is that carbon copy (CC) recipients are visible to all other recipients whereas those who are BCCed are not visible to anyone.

Yeah I copied it from Mr Google but there you go.
Old 10-02-18, 13:04
Enthusiastic contributor