Go Back   Web User Forums > Software > General PC-related

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-18, 14:46
george29 george29 is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 136
Default Windows 10 Boot Grub Error

Hello,

Our Desktop PC with a SSD for C and a Hdd for D has worked fine for over a year since new; its left on all day. Its vacuumed out now and then.

Came back to it after lunch and there was a black screen with a Grub Error message saying drive not found ?

We powered off and then re - powered but got the same messages ?
Repeated a few more times including mains power switch off , but the same result.

Plugged in an old SSD with the original drives disconnected and that booted ok.

Reverted to the original disks and drive C seems to boot ok, but then the HDD drive D not seen ?

Tried swapping around the sata ports on the mobo and we eventually got everything working ?? no sensible reason why it started working .. ?

Have HD Sentinal free loaded and it shows this error, below

Does this sound like a particular device fault or just too early to say ?

Any particular tests worth running with HDSentinal or any other program ?

Thank you.

Last edited by george29; 09-02-18 at 14:54.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-18, 15:08
Cantrel Cantrel is online now
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11,239
Default Re: Windows 10 Boot Grub Error

Click on the S.M.A.R.T option in HD Sentinel and then see if it corresponds with what the free version of Speccy gives for it.

https://www.piriform.com/speccy

When it's done analysing click on Storage.

This is what Speccy gives for mine - if you can read it.

TmsSM.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-18, 19:33
george29 george29 is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 136
Default Re: Windows 10 Boot Grub Error

Hello,

Thank you for the info, and yes, Speccy does agree with HDS Smart.

We were a bit concerned the other day when we realised that Norton Security ( installed about 4 months ago) was running Defrag on the SSD !
Wondered if the extra work what any affect on it, seemingly not.
Since terminated to windows Optimise /Trim.

If both drives report ok, wonder if the mobo, AsrockH81M or psu CiT 500w are developing a problem ?

The psu fan is working ok but getting a bit noisier for a quiet room, might be worth changing for something better.

Anything else you could suggest other than waiting to see if it happens again ? backing up of course !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-18, 20:46
Cantrel Cantrel is online now
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11,239
Default Re: Windows 10 Boot Grub Error

I suppose it could be the mobo as you had to swap ports around.

It may also have been confusing the HDD as the OS drive.

Have you ever had this machine dual boot as Grub tends to be an Ubuntu term as far as I know.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-18, 22:30
george29 george29 is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 136
Default Re: Windows 10 Boot Grub Error

Hello,

Thanks, Yes, think we used the drive on an old laptop first with Ubuntu, though a year or two ago, before we used it on this desktop as windows C drive which was restored from the backup image of the old 60gb SSD

Thought we had formatted the drive under windows but seems there are two very small partitions still there, but never had any such boot problems before.

We could wipe the disc and restore a Macrium image to make a clean start ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-18, 07:44
Cantrel Cantrel is online now
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11,239
Default Re: Windows 10 Boot Grub Error

I would see if you could delete those partitions either in Disk Management or using Diskpart first.

https://www.disk-partition.com/diskp...tion-4125.html
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-01-18, 05:32
NortonSupport's Avatar
NortonSupport NortonSupport is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 51
Default Re: Windows 10 Boot Grub Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by george29 View Post
Hello,

Thank you for the info, and yes, Speccy does agree with HDS Smart.

We were a bit concerned the other day when we realised that Norton Security ( installed about 4 months ago) was running Defrag on the SSD !
Wondered if the extra work what any affect on it, seemingly not.
Since terminated to windows Optimise /Trim.

If both drives report ok, wonder if the mobo, AsrockH81M or psu CiT 500w are developing a problem ?

The psu fan is working ok but getting a bit noisier for a quiet room, might be worth changing for something better.

Anything else you could suggest other than waiting to see if it happens again ? backing up of course !
Sorry about the confusion. It is not necessary to run defrag on an SSD. We will report this to our engineering team. If you have any additional feedback, please post it here at: http://community.norton.com/forums/product-suggestions

Thanks
Raj
Norton Support
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-18, 11:08
george29 george29 is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 136
Default Re: Windows 10 Boot Grub Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cantrel View Post
I would see if you could delete those partitions either in Disk Management or using Diskpart first.

https://www.disk-partition.com/diskp...tion-4125.html

Hello,

Seems those two small partitions were the Windows Recovery partition and the other just unallocated space, so called it drive L.

No further problems, so far, seems this link shows how Grub can be removed from the MBR, but looks complex, so think we will hold off with that, unless the problem returns.

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...778e977?auth=1

We did give the pc a good clean out, remaking all the connections etc and also renewed both the cpu and psu fans, what a difference ! you do not realise how noisy the old ones were.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-18, 11:16
george29 george29 is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 136
Default Re: Windows 10 Boot Grub Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by NortonSupport View Post
Sorry about the confusion. It is not necessary to run defrag on an SSD. We will report this to our engineering team. If you have any additional feedback, please post it here at: http://community.norton.com/forums/product-suggestions

Thanks
Raj
Norton Support
Hello Raj,

Thanks for your input.

We did look on the Norton forum and did find existing reference to this SSD /Defrag problem, so assumed it was already logged, though not overcome.

Also looked up another problem in the forum without a clear answer, where Norton starts a full scan but then you need to use the pc, but the scan really slows things down, but cannot find any way to stop the scan, though we did not end it via Task Manager as not sure if that would stop other AV tasks?

Overcame it by rescheduling the scan to another time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 21:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved