Go Back   Web User Forums > Software > Windows 7 help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24-11-17, 20:30
Petrosky Petrosky is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Dublin Ireland
Posts: 139
Default fluctuating Broadband speeds

I am looking for some advice in an annoying situation.
My Broadband supplier assures me of 240mbps and have been getting this up
to a week ago. Then it dropped. I rang them up and they sent their Engineer out and he saw
I was only getting around 70mbps. He replaced the modem and I felt all was in order but next day the same problem. He came out again but this time brought
his own laptop with him (he had not got it on the first visit). He connected it up to my modem and got the full 240mbps on three tests concluding that the problem was with my laptop. I was puzzled because it worked fine up to last week. I tried Internet Explorer as well as my Chrome....same result.
BUT when I disconnected my Avast Free Security for some tests my download speeds were back to normal..full 240mbps.
Should I try another Anti Virus or might it be a problem with the Realtek Ethernet input circuitry. I do not want the expense of a Computer Tech unless really necessary...my laptop is in good working order.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-11-17, 21:32
Cantrel Cantrel is online now
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 9,698
Default Re: fluctuating Broadband speeds

I'd try another AV program first, but it could just be some buggy Avast Definitions which will eventually move on - normally.

Should Avast have become buggy then reinstalling it may help.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-11-17, 23:41
Petrosky Petrosky is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Dublin Ireland
Posts: 139
Default Re: fluctuating Broadband speeds

Thanks,Cantrel.

Sound advice. I shall try uninstalling and re-installing first. What alternative Security (free) would you recommend ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-11-17, 10:13
Cantrel Cantrel is online now
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 9,698
Default Re: fluctuating Broadband speeds

I've tried Bitdefender Free but it seemed slow to auto start.

I don't use a freebie as I'm quite happy with Norton Security, although it can have its moments as well with false positives.

A reinstall of Avast may be all that is needed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-11-17, 07:33
fossewayfella's Avatar
fossewayfella fossewayfella is offline
Highly valued member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,297
Default Re: fluctuating Broadband speeds

Petrosky,

I thought your tag was Russian so wondered why you had not gone for Kaspersky AV, but I looked it up and see it is not Russian.
I'm sure you have seen this Ancestry web site. It is https.Thought you might be interested.

https://www.ancestry.com/name-origin?surname=petrosky

I, like Cantrel, buy my AV, (Kaspersky) and the offer in CA or WU mags are quite reasonable, obviously dependant on your personal finances.

Hope you get your problem sorted a.s.a.p.

fosseway
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-11-17, 13:01
Petrosky Petrosky is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Dublin Ireland
Posts: 139
Default Re: fluctuating Broadband speeds

Hi Fossewayfella,

Interesting observation. No, I have no Russian connections and do not particularly like Russians apart from their music, literature and women. I
could have gone for Trumpsky.
My problems remain. I uninstalled Avast and re-installed it.....no change.
I kind of agree with you about paid for Kapersky and like you and Cantrel may go that route. I shall first contact a service agent to make sure it is
nothing within the Laptop causing this. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-11-17, 17:04
Cantrel Cantrel is online now
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 9,698
Default Re: fluctuating Broadband speeds

I'd try a different AV program.

You could give Bitdefender Free a go to see what you make of it but ensure you fully uninstall Avast using its uninstaller first.

https://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility

https://www.bitdefender.co.uk/solutions/free.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-12-17, 03:56
Petrosky Petrosky is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Dublin Ireland
Posts: 139
Default Re: fluctuating Broadband speeds

One final point if this matter is not already closed.
If I completly remove my ANTI VIRUS and the unit is virtually unprotected I reach my promised maximum Broadband speeds 240mbps + easily.
But this is risky and I shall try your recommended Bitdefender system first.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-12-17, 05:28
Petrosky Petrosky is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Dublin Ireland
Posts: 139
Default Re: fluctuating Broadband speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Petrosky View Post
One final point if this matter is not already closed.
If I completly remove my ANTI VIRUS and the unit is virtually unprotected I reach my promised maximum Broadband speeds 240mbps + easily.
But this is risky and I shall try your recommended Bitdefender system first.
FINAL SITUATION

Bitdefender was worst AV of all and a nightmare to uninstall.
The ONLY way to get my required download speed is to have
NO AV SECURITY ON MY UNIT AT ALL.
The jury is out and I rest my case.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-12-17, 05:38
fossewayfella's Avatar
fossewayfella fossewayfella is offline
Highly valued member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,297
Default Re: fluctuating Broadband speeds



fosseway
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 23:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved