Go Back   Web User Forums > Welcome > Web User magazine feature suggestions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-18, 02:18
Bedstor's Avatar
Bedstor Bedstor is offline
Top contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: On the Bus route to Wigan Pier
Posts: 12,584
Question What can I do when I detect a Bluetooth "signal"?

While I was checking the settings of my Tablet, on the Bluetooth section it said that it was detecting the MAC number of a Bluetooth enabled TV nearby and upon clicking the link it said that it was only active up to 10 metres radius. Now my question is what exactly can a paired tablet & TV do together, Have no idea or data on this poser?
__________________
You're Welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-18, 03:25
Peru's Avatar
Peru Peru is offline
Highly valued member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,326
Default Re: What can I do when I detect a Bluetooth "signal"?

You can stream the internet on your TV.
__________________
Always check for bundled unwanted extras when downloading and installing any new software and be sure to decline them.
Use custom install when itís available. Read all of every window before clicking.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-18, 14:17
Bedstor's Avatar
Bedstor Bedstor is offline
Top contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: On the Bus route to Wigan Pier
Posts: 12,584
Default Re: What can I do when I detect a Bluetooth "signal"?

Detective work continuing...
The TV in question seems to be next door and upstairs as my Bluetooth Telly is 2 floors below
As for Internet streaming I suppose it's working like my Adjacent WiFi Signals
I'm seeing 3, "Hotline" which/ex wifi repeater ( paired Homeplug) beams over the House and most of the garden
Netgear Wifi router which is also powerful plus somebody's unsecured router Wifi from I'm guessing 10 to 30 metres distant (only 1 bar strength) In total @ this location I have 16 signals showing...And those Free Hotspots Not in range are saved in a cookie (If I remember to set the flag) Not accessible/viewable if out of range>Go into another place and the number goes down or up fast and might have to manually link to a signal

For the record Windows 10 for all its Bell & whistles does not have a visible Live Network status view App Was it XP which had this Feature listing (on the advanced controls) which was dropped on the Next version

Then there is Miracast which is supposed to link/mirror my Windows 10 to mobile devices and more.
Am having no Joy on this.
There is a puzzling Note on that Wiki which states
Quote:
By 2017, ComputerWorld observed that "Miracast never quite caught on as a standard", with the Android operating system having already dropped support in 2015.[4]
So why did MS Continue with this into Windows 10 where Android has become a big player
Has the WU /CA staff tried running test permutations on this feature ? Which was launched in Windows 8 (which I skipped)
https://www.cnet.com/how-to/miracast...oring-android/
__________________
You're Welcome.

Last edited by Bedstor; 08-07-18 at 14:45.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 16:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved