Go Back   Web User Forums > Software > Other Software

Old 08-12-17, 07:48
Familiar face

Default Xmarks - Meltdown and Bookmarks Lost

I have been using Xmarks for several years and apart from the software being a bit 'flakey' had no serious problems. However about 3 days ago while I was not using it specifically I noticed that my bookmarks were disappearing from the bookmarks bar. Once the activity had ceased although the bar still showed the files all bookmarks had been erased. I normally use Chrome but on checking with my other browsers the same applied, not a bookmark left.

I logged into my account on the Xmarks site and found that although the folder structure for my bookmarks was still there all bookmarks had been deleted. I have tried to restore them but although I get the spinning wheel and it tells me it is working nothing happens. The Xmarks site makes trying to contact them very difficult and so far I have been unable to do so.

Has anyone had this problem and any ideas please?
Old 09-12-17, 15:57
Familiar face

Default Re: Xmarks - Meltdown and Bookmarks Lost

I have now found that if having logged in to Xmarks and tried again to restore my bookmarks which appears to be working (but in fact does nothing) - then - open another tab and log in to Xmarks again and go to my bookmarks where I found an older version of them which I have now downloaded as an HTML document to my computer. Still unable to sync this version back to my computer but at least having this I can see most of my bookmarks.

Now after all that hassle I am definitely off from Xmarks, never to return. Now using 'Bookmark Ninja' which stores bookmarks in the cloud only from where I simply login to get access to my sites and does not require to be synced to my computer.