Go Back   Web User Forums > Hardware > Computer components and accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13-11-17, 17:01
MK10Si MK10Si is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Manchester
Posts: 25
Default New VM router killed my printed


Guys, I need your expert help.

My HP3730 worked great using wireless, but after a routine router upgrade from Virgin Media it won't connect. I keep getting the same error after multiple driver deletes and re-installs. Any ideas?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg HP.jpg (16.2 KB, 2 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-11-17, 17:15
pete.i pete.i is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 700
Default Re: New VM router killed my printed

It wont be a driver problem. Your new router will have a different wireless password so you will have to re-connect your printer to your router and then tell your computer to find the printer again. Telling us what OS you are using will help as would a bigger picture. Just looked at the actuall
picture posted and I can see that it cannot find the SSID. This is the name of router's wireless connection. It is trying to find the router's SSID. This will have changed as well when you got your new router.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-11-17, 18:47
MK10Si MK10Si is offline
Familiar face
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Manchester
Posts: 25
Default Re: New VM router killed my printed

Thanks Pete, this is Windows 10.

The HP software happily finds the new SSID of the router at the initial set-up and evens finds the password, it's when the HP setup software tries to insert these settings into the printer it fails and the error occurs every time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-11-17, 20:35
Cantrel Cantrel is online now
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11,029
Default Re: New VM router killed my printed

This article may help in resetting to the default wireless settings as well as continuing with the new set up.

https://support.hp.com/za-en/product...ment/c05049300

If it is retaining the old SSID settings then that could be causing a conflict.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-11-17, 23:04
tornado's Avatar
tornado tornado is offline
Highly valued member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Stirlingshire
Posts: 1,776
Default Re: New VM router killed my printed

After my machines upgraded to the W10 FCU, Wi-Fi external devices no longer worked on my network.

I accessed my Netgear Hub per 192.168.0.1 to check my settings.
I found that Wireless had been switched off, so I duly switched it back on ... then saved it.
I wish they were all as simple as that.



Spit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-11-17, 00:52
Bedstor's Avatar
Bedstor Bedstor is offline
Top contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: On the Bus route to Wigan Pier
Posts: 12,717
Default Re: New VM router killed my printed

Adding to Spits Reply If you can remember the Numbers Alter the Channels Values to something other than the Default settings. Mine are set to 10 /44 Default is nearly always 9/36 And If you scanned your Local area the majority of Wi-Fi is running on that set[of values] Thus eking a tiny bit of bandwidth if within range (about 50 Metres radius) works both ways At worst it Interrupts in some fashion have had it "Broadcasting' to the Phone line recently. Netgear Router only placed 1 foot away from the Wireless handset
__________________
You're Welcome.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
printer, virgin media, wireless

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 09:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved