Go Back   Web User Forums > Security > Security & Privacy Help and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-18, 13:41
george29 george29 is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 136
Default Computer Actives Meltdown test.

Hello,

Just been reading the current CA magazine and tried their test to see what Meltdown and Spectre protection we have.

Our PC is a custom built Asrock motherboard , i3 4170 , using Norton IS, so understand we may have to download some protection updates from Asrock.

The test returned these messages but no idea exactly what they refer to or whats needed to fix them ?

Last edited by george29; 09-02-18 at 14:54.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-18, 16:21
Sneakybeaky's Avatar
Sneakybeaky Sneakybeaky is offline
Passionate member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gosport Hants
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Computer Actives Meltdown test.

BTI hardware is not present on your computer.

KVAShadowRequired : True
KVAShadowWindowsSupportPresent : False
KVA Shadow Windows operating system support for the kernel VA shadow feature is not present. It means that the Microsoft January 2018 update has not been installed on your device. It wiil install if the registry key is present indicating that your AV is compatible.

Verify that you are running a supported antivirus application before you install operating system or firmware updates. Contact the antivirus software vendor for compatibility information.
Apply all available Windows operating system updates, including the January 2018 Windows security updates.
Apply the applicable firmware update that is provided by the device manufacturer.
Read this, and the warning at the bottom.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/...erabilities-in
__________________
Contrariwise,continued Tweedledee, if it was so, it might be; and if it were so, it would be: but as it isn't, it ain't. That's logic.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-18, 20:03
george29 george29 is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 136
Default Re: Computer Actives Meltdown test.

Hello,

Thanks Sneakybeaky for this and the other thread reply.

We are on W10 v1709 and do have Jans update KB4056892 installed.

Will have to follow up those details with a clearer head ! ( birthday dinner party )

The more we read about these problems the more disjointed the answers seem to be, looks like every one's relying on everyone else with Intel seemingly back seat driving instead of from the front !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-18, 21:46
Sneakybeaky's Avatar
Sneakybeaky Sneakybeaky is offline
Passionate member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gosport Hants
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Computer Actives Meltdown test.

Chect if Your pc has this REGKEY
Key="HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE"Subkey="SOFTWARE\Microsoft \Windows\CurrentVersion\QualityCompat"
Value Name="cadca5fe-87d3-4b96-b7fb-a231484277cc"
Type="REG_DWORD”
Data="0x00000000”

Then look for a BIOS upgrade and fixes from ASROCK.
__________________
Contrariwise,continued Tweedledee, if it was so, it might be; and if it were so, it would be: but as it isn't, it ain't. That's logic.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-18, 16:55
george29 george29 is offline
Established member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 136
Default Re: Computer Actives Meltdown test.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sneakybeaky View Post
Chect if Your pc has this REGKEY
Key="HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE"Subkey="SOFTWARE\Microsoft \Windows\CurrentVersion\QualityCompat"
Value Name="cadca5fe-87d3-4b96-b7fb-a231484277cc"
Type="REG_DWORD”
Data="0x00000000”

Then look for a BIOS upgrade and fixes from ASROCK.
Hello,

Yes, we have that registry entry with a value of 0, though not yet sure of its relevance, you're obviously are well acquainted with it !


Looked on the Asrock site and nothing to download Bios or otherwise.

From their posts, seems they have found problems with Intels original fix and are waiting for an answer, plus quiet a few comments saying Asrock seem to be in a bit of a mess over this.


While we cannot fully understand all the implications of these bugs, seems the greatest threat is for folk who use resident password managers or allow the browsers to store their passwords.

We use a dedicated w10 pc for banking with no passwords saved on it.
We only open one site at a time, manually entering the passwords , so wonder if we are still as vulnerable ?

Is there any particular program we can run between visiting banks that would clear the memory or will anything do , short of powering off ?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-18, 21:31
Sneakybeaky's Avatar
Sneakybeaky Sneakybeaky is offline
Passionate member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gosport Hants
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Computer Actives Meltdown test.

Quote:
Originally Posted by george29 View Post

Yes, we have that registry entry with a value of 0
That means your AV has been updated to allow the Microsoft update to install
Quote:
While we cannot fully understand all the implications of these bugs, seems the greatest threat is for folk who use resident password managers or allow the browsers to store their passwords.
No. The vulnerability is from memory leakage which will allow a rogue program to extract a password from memory after you have used a program to enter your password.
Quote:
We use a dedicated w10 pc for banking with no passwords saved on it.
We only open one site at a time, manually entering the passwords , so wonder if we are still as vulnerable ?
Yes. If you have entered the password it can be extracted from memory. You are confusing memory with disc space. Passwords stored on your harddrive are not affected by this bug. It is not about reading passwords stored on your harddrive.
Quote:
Is there any particular program we can run between visiting banks that would clear the memory or will anything do , short of powering off ?
No. Powering off will clear memory.
__________________
Contrariwise,continued Tweedledee, if it was so, it might be; and if it were so, it would be: but as it isn't, it ain't. That's logic.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-18, 22:17
Madeline's Avatar
Madeline Madeline is offline
Top contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cymru
Posts: 51,897
Default Re: Computer Actives Meltdown test.

I haven't done the CA test and I wonder if I've got this right. Like george29, all 3 of or PCs have the registry entry as shown above, so that means that MS can install the update. Also like george29, we have no passwords installed on our PCs and we don't use password managers, but obviously we have to use passwords when logging in to our banks ~ other places too. These passwords will stay in the memory, but will be cleared when we shut down the PCs. Is that correct or have I misunderstood?
__________________
"I'm Irish. We think sideways." Spike Milligan. 1918 - 2002
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-18, 22:26
Cantrel Cantrel is online now
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11,249
Default Re: Computer Actives Meltdown test.

That's correct - shutting down will clear the memory but CCleaner has a box under Windows Explorer default unchecked for Network Passwords as well as one for Saved Passwords under the IE section.

Running CCleaner will log you out of anything you are logged into but will save you having to shutdown to clear the memory after having been logged into sensitive sites.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-18, 22:32
Madeline's Avatar
Madeline Madeline is offline
Top contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cymru
Posts: 51,897
Default Re: Computer Actives Meltdown test.

Thanks Tom, at least I've got that straight now. Sometimes, trying to remember everything and which program does what gets a bit too much for me!
__________________
"I'm Irish. We think sideways." Spike Milligan. 1918 - 2002
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-02-18, 22:51
Cantrel Cantrel is online now
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11,249
Default Re: Computer Actives Meltdown test.

I don't have those boxes checked and while MS have released an update for Win 10 to rectify the problems K4056892 caused, MS have still to release a modified one for Win 7 - perhaps they're hoping Win 7 users will have forgotten about that one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 16:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved