Go Back   Web User Forums > Software > Windows 10 help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17-12-17, 07:47
mal23 mal23 is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Default help needed

I've got a problem that I cannot solve
I'm administrator of this computer. I keep getting a warning
when trying to download a app.
"An administrator has blocked you from running this app."
constantly even if I run app as Administrator.
Unable to find a work around.
Microsoft is dictating what I can have on my own system.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-12-17, 08:11
Sneakybeaky's Avatar
Sneakybeaky Sneakybeaky is offline
Passionate member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gosport Hants
Posts: 1,233
Default Re: help needed

The purpose of this pop-up is to secure the system from running suspicious files, which may transfer a virus into the system.
You can install the app by running an Elevated Command Prompt,
Log on as administrator.
Right-click on Windows key and select Command Prompt (Admin).
Type in the full path of the application you have downloaded in the run.
or you can sign in to the the Hidden Administrator Account. Run the install and then sign out.
Both methods are explained here:
https://ugetfix.com/ask/how-to-fix-a...on-windows-10/
__________________
Contrariwise,continued Tweedledee, if it was so, it might be; and if it were so, it would be: but as it isn't, it ain't. That's logic.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-12-17, 08:48
mal23 mal23 is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Default Re: help needed

Neither method worked. 2nd method in cmd. just came back access denied
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-12-17, 09:21
Sneakybeaky's Avatar
Sneakybeaky Sneakybeaky is offline
Passionate member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gosport Hants
Posts: 1,233
Default Re: help needed

One possibility is that in the 'Local Security Policy' the default installation setting is to 'Run All Administrators in Approval Mode'.
If you are on a Home version of Windows open the 'Registry Editor', and navigate to 'HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Cur rentVersion\Policies\System'
Select 'EnableLUA' and change the value to '0' instead of '1'.
Close the 'Registry Editor' and restart the computer.
Try again.
__________________
Contrariwise,continued Tweedledee, if it was so, it might be; and if it were so, it would be: but as it isn't, it ain't. That's logic.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-12-17, 11:15
mal23 mal23 is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Default Re: help needed

once again this made no difference. Iam totally baffled
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-12-17, 14:51
Sneakybeaky's Avatar
Sneakybeaky Sneakybeaky is offline
Passionate member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gosport Hants
Posts: 1,233
Default Re: help needed

So am I and without more clues I cannot suggest anything else to try. Others have reported this problem but Microsoft have not come up with any answers yet.
__________________
Contrariwise,continued Tweedledee, if it was so, it might be; and if it were so, it would be: but as it isn't, it ain't. That's logic.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17-12-17, 14:58
mal23 mal23 is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Default Re: help needed

Thanks for trying, I don't think microsoft are interested in sorting this problem out.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17-12-17, 16:11
Sneakybeaky's Avatar
Sneakybeaky Sneakybeaky is offline
Passionate member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gosport Hants
Posts: 1,233
Default Re: help needed

Microsoft’s suggestions for a similar problem which may be worth a try.
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...a2299ef?auth=1
Method 2 and 3.
__________________
Contrariwise,continued Tweedledee, if it was so, it might be; and if it were so, it would be: but as it isn't, it ain't. That's logic.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-12-17, 16:34
Cantrel Cantrel is offline
Global Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 10,180
Default Re: help needed

A quicker way to take ownership in Win 10 by adding it to the right click context menu is to merge this file - https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/...dows-10-a.html

Then when you want to install something - select Save - right click on it and then on Take Ownership where you will be able to unpack the .zip and use the setup application.

Hopefully Windows will allow you to do this without blocking you, although you may be able to do it in Safe Mode with Networking.

I've added this to both my Win 10 laptops.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-12-17, 10:01
mal23 mal23 is offline
Enthusiastic contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Default Re: help needed

Hi Cantrel have down loaded as adviced "take ownership. Part opens the app trying to install then admin.blocks it,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Search the forum

Search

© Dennis Publishing Limited Licensed by Felden





All times are GMT. The time now is 18:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Dennis Publishing 2010, All rights reserved